I Was Watching

“When you’re Moma asked me to marry her…”

“He loves to tell it that way.”  Moma smiles with a twinkle in her eye, as Daddy tell his parody of their proposal story again.

**************************************

 “Your dad was on a Worship Team in college that came to our church…”

I love watching Moma tell the story.  She always smiles as she remembers it all, as if it was just that morning.

******************************************

“How did you know Moma was the one for you?”

I already knew the answer, but I ask him again because I like to hear the story.  Especially when he gets serious and tells it like it really happened.  There’s just something about listening to him talk about wanting to pursue her.

**************************************

For as long as I can remember, my mom was the “Kool Aid Mom”.  All of the kids of on our road would end up playing in our back yard and having glass after glass of Kool-Aid from her kitchen in the summer.  Hers was the driveway that other kids got off of the school bus at and the home where many girls’ sleepovers was had.  My mom has also taught me how to have faith in the Lord, regardless of the circumstances.  She knows and believes in the power of prayer and has taught me the same.

My dad was the one to help churn butter for my First Grade Thanksgiving Feast.  He and Megan’s dad would typically be the ones running the grill during our End of the Year picnics and I never had a problem he couldn’t help solve.  I never broke anything that he couldn’t fix.  I grew up believing that my dad’s Superman.  He is also one of the Godliest people I know.  He has shown me how to pour out grace on people that I wanted to throw my hands up at and he is nice to people that I know secretly drive him crazy.

Coming through school, I spent some time in the homes of my friends.  I experienced a lot “bad idea” ways of doing family so I gained a huge appreciation for the home my parents built, early.  Needless to say, their home has always had a swinging back door; kids swinging it wide open as they ran in and out together.  Even as we’ve gotten older our friends have still gathered at the home of my parents.  Whether it’s for card nights in the summer, late night talks in the living room with them, or breakfast on Thanksgiving morning—my parents have always created and offered a safe place for all of us, my sisters and our friends, to grow.

My parents.  Today they celebrate 33 years of marriage and I can’t help but get giddy over and over again as I sit picturing the two of them telling their story to us girls (and our friends) countless times.  I’m also finding myself thinking about the ways they have demonstrated what marriage is really about.  They are truly partners in ministry and they do all of this thing called life—together.  I’m not going to pretend that growing up in our house was all sunshine and ice cream (though we’ve eaten our fair share together), but I do know one thing for sure.  I am honored to have been born their second daughter and as I learn how to do life and marriage in my future, I will forever be grateful for all of the times that I was watching them.

Leave a Reply

